La Romana’s Toros win Dominican Winter Baseball crown

Santo Domingo, (EFE) .- Los Toros del Este were crowned Dominican baseball champions, beating Tigres del Licey 7-1, Tuesday night, in the eighth game of the final, played at the Quisqueya Juan Marichal Stadium, before nine thousand spectators.

The Bulls, who fired eleven undisputed, relied on the good work of their opener, the Panamanian Paolo Espino, who threw five innings and two thirds without allowing scores, to prove victory.

Espino’s work was completed by relievers Jarlin Garcia, Tim Peterson, Anthony Carter, Keury Mella and closer Ramón Ramírez, to leave the losers in five hits.

The series ended 5-3, fulfilling the forecasts given to the favored cattle to win the competition in eight games.

It was the third crown of those led by Puerto Rican Lino Rivera, in its history as a franchise in the baseball of the Caribbean country.

They won their first title in the 1994-95 campaign, against Águilas Cibaeñas, and the second came in the 2010-11 season when they beat Stars of the East.


The winners took control of the game (1-0) in the fourth episode, scoring a run against the starter Lisalverto Bonilla, the result of a simple bunt by the gardener Abraham Almonte.


Read the full text of “La Romana’s Toros win Dominican Winter Baseball crown”