‘Dores hand out baseball awards at annual banquet

Vandy celebrates 2019 national championship players

authors Michael Gallagher

The Vanderbilt baseball team had as good of a 2019 season as you could possibly have, setting an SEC record with 59 wins, winning the SEC regular-season title and tournament championship, and ending the year as College World Series champions.

On Saturday, the ‘Dores handed out their team awards for last season, honoring the several players who played an integral part in the school’s second national championship, as voted on by the players and coaches.

The winners are listed below:

Best Offensive Player: J.J. Bleday

The No. 4 overall pick in the 2019 MLB Draft, Bleday led the NCAA with 27 home runs (Vandy also led the NCAA with 100 team home runs) and was tabbed as the SEC Player of the Year. He was part of the College World Series all-tournament team.

Newcomer of the Year: Kumar Rocker

Rocker became a household name after throwing the…

Read the full text of “‘Dores hand out baseball awards at annual banquet”