NCBWA Renames Coach of the Year Award to Honor Mike Martin

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Mike Martin was one of the greatest coaches in the history of collegiate baseball, and now he’ll be immortalized as such.

After capping off his legendary 40-year career as the winningest coach in college baseball history, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association announced on Tuesday that the annual award honoring the top Division I baseball coach will be renamed in Martin’s honor.

“When I heard about it,” Martin said with a smile, “I was simply flabbergasted. It is such an honor to have my name associated with this award, and it is a tribute to all the players and coaches who worked with me at Florida State.”

Martin retired following the 2019 season, when he guided the Seminoles to the College World Series for a record-tying 17th time. Martin is a member of the Florida Sports Hall of Fame (inducted 2005), the American Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame (2007), his home-state North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame (2018), the Florida State Athletics Hall of Fame (2019) and the College Baseball Hall of Fame (2019).

He became college baseball’s all-time wins leader in May of 2018 and became the only head coach in…

Read the full text of “NCBWA Renames Coach of the Year Award to Honor Mike Martin”